Skip to main content

3 CVM alumni honored at 2024 AASV Annual Meeting

  • CVM alumni award winners at AAVS

    3 CVM alumni honored at 2024 AASV Annual Meeting

    Drs. Matt Allerson, Paul Yeske and Nathan Winkelman were recognized for their contributions and service to the swine industry

Three College of Veterinary Medicine alumni recently were recognized for their outstanding contributions and service to the swine industry at the 55th Annual Meeting of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians (AASV).

Dr. Matt Allerson, ’09 DVM, ’10 MPH, ’13 PhD; Dr. Paul Yeske, DVM, ’98 MS; and Dr. Nathan Winkelman, ’84 DVM, were honored at the meeting held February 24–27 in Nashville, Tenn.


Allerson awarded Swine Practitioner of the Year

AASV named Dr. Matt Allerson the 2024 Swine Practitioner of the Year. The award is presented to a swine practitioner who has demonstrated an unusual degree of proficiency and effectiveness in the delivery of veterinary service to clients.

Dr. Matt Allerson

“His ability to navigate and lead through challenging situations with a calm and positive outlook reflects his resilience and unwavering commitment to the well-being of the swine industry,” a nomination letter written for Allerson notes.

Allerson is a veterinarian at Holden Farms, based out of Northfield, Minn., where he leads a
team of veterinarians for one of the largest family-owned production systems in the country.

He is renowned nationally and internationally for his work in disease control, health, and production and has presented many scientific abstracts at AASV annual meetings and other swine health meetings.

Allerson also was lauded for his outstanding teaching, mentorship, natural team leadership, and approachability.

“I am honored to receive this award from the AASV,” Allerson says. “I am very grateful for the team at Holden Farms that I have had the pleasure to work with for the past 13 years. Additionally, I appreciate all of the mentorship I have received from members of the AASV and the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine. I am also thankful for my wonderful wife and family and all the support they have provided for me during my career.”


Yeske named 2024 Howard Dunne Memorial Award recipient

Dr. Paul Yeske

Dr. Paul Yeske received the Howard Dunne Memorial Award, which recognizes an AASV member who has made important contributions and provided outstanding service to the association and the swine industry.

“I am humbled to be considered with the previous recipients,” Yeske says.

Yeske is a senior member of the veterinary team at the Swine Vet Center (SVC) in St. Peter, Minn. During a career in swine medicine spanning more than 30 years, he has been recognized by his peers for his important contributions to disease management and elimination as the AASV Swine Practitioner of the Year (1998), the recipient of the Allen D. Leman Science in Practice Award (2010), and the Iowa State University Swine Disease Conference Science in Practice Award (2013).

He has contributed to the greater knowledge of swine medicine for veterinarians as a speaker at multiple annual meetings of the AASV and has served on several AASV committees and task forces. 


Dr. Nathan Winkelman presented with Meritorious Service Award

For his outstanding service to the AASV, Dr. Nathan Winkelman has earned the organization’s Meritorious Service Award. Winkelman says he strongly believes the AASV has been integral in a long and successful career as a swine veterinarian and researcher.

Dr. Nathan Winkelman

“My dedication to the AASV is exemplified in not missing an annual meeting since I was a vet student in 1982,” he says.

Winkelman is the co-owner of Swine Services Unlimited Inc., a swine research and consulting practice he founded in 1998. He is the lead author of more than 40 scientific articles and has been invited to speak at many local, national, and international meetings. He was the 2019 recipient of the Allen D. Leman Science in Practice Award.

In service of the AASV, he has led the association as president in 2019 and chaired the AASV’s 50th Anniversary Annual Meeting. He has served on the AASV Executive Committee, the AASV Board of Directors, and many other AASV committees. Winkelman also has moderated numerous seminars at AASV annual meetings.

He’s also been a member of the AASV Foundation Board, chaired its research grant committee, and created its first endowed Legacy Fund.

“I am grateful and humbled to receive the Meritorious Service Award. It’s easy to give back time and effort to an organization I love,” Winkelman says. “The AASV has given me 100 times what I try to give in return.”


You may also like