Skip to main content

Alumni updates are submitted by your fellow alumni. Read what they are up to below or submit your own update.

Submit an Alumni Update

  • Talita Resende, ’19, PhD,  received an honorable mention for the University of Minnesota Best Dissertation competition. Resende was advised by Connie Gebhart, PhD, and Fabio Vannucci, DVM, PhD, MS. She works as a diagnostic coordinator with Sanphar Saúde Animal in Brazil. Her dissertation is titled “In Vitro Investigation Of Lawsonia Intracellularis Pathogenesis.”

  • Anna Munsey, DVM, ’20 PhD, advised by Andres Perez, DVM, PhD, has accepted a Centers for Disease Control Teutsch Prevention Effectiveness Fellowship. The two-year fellowship is with the Center for Global Health, Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria. Munsey will start the fellowship in August.

  • Maggie Baldwin, ’13 DVM, has been named Colorado’s state veterinarian. Baldwin will manage the Colorado Department of Agriculture’s Animal Health division through planning, directing, and executing all programs, policies, and cooperative agreements with other governmental agencies.

  • Neil Anderson, ’61 DVM, ’68 PhD, Manhattan, Kan., died on March 28 at 87. Anderson’s veterinary path led him into teaching, holding an assistant professorship at Auburn University before joining Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine as a professor. There, Anderson served as a longtime faculty member. In addition to his veterinary career, Anderson served as U.S. Navy officer. He is survived by his wife, Betty, their six children, 17 grandchildren, 12-great grandchildren, his four siblings, and many nieces and nephews.

  • Harish Janagama, ’10 PhD, started a new position in December 2020 as principal scientist for Umoja Biopharma in Seattle, Wash. Janagama was advised by Srinand Sreevastan, BVSC, MVSC, MPH, PhD.


  • Jyotika Varshney ’16 PhD, founded a research development company, VeriSim Life, that was recently recognized for novel pharmaceutical development approaches. Varshney was advised by Subree Subramanian, PhD.

  • Xiong (Sean) Wang ’16 DVM, published a manuscript quoted in a paper written by Dr. Rochelle Walensky, director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.

  • Laura Lefkowitz, ’93 DVM, has a book out called Bite Me: Tell-All Tales of an Emergency Veterinarian. It’s a reality-based, uncensored look at the world of modern veterinary medicine.

  • Karen Shenoy ’04 DVM, was promoted in January 2021 to director of field sales and engagement at Hill's Pet Nutrition.