Skip to main content

Alumni updates are submitted by your fellow alumni. Read what they are up to below or submit your own update.

Submit an Alumni Update

  • Gary A. Conboy, ’80 DVM, ’90 PhD, has been selected as the 2021 recipient of the Atlantic Award of Excellence in Veterinary Medicine and Animal Care from Atlantic Veterinary College at the University of Prince Edward Island.

  • Linda Glaser, ’85 DVM, was selected in April 2022 to serve as interim executive director of the Minnesota Board of Animal Health.

  • Jim Bennett, ’81 DVM, has been announced as the recipient of the 2021 Boehringer Ingelheim Excellence in Preventive Medicine Dairy Award. The award was announced on Oct. 9 at the American Association of Bovine Practitioners’ annual luncheon in Salt Lake City. It recognizes individual member practitioners or practices that have developed outstanding preventive medicine programs.

    Issue: Fall 2021
  • Randy Simonson, ’81 PhD, finished his term with the University of Minnesota Board of Regents. He served from 2018 to 2021.

    Issue: Fall 2021
  • Bob Murtaugh, ‘80 DVM, started a new position as Chief Professional Relations Officer at Pathway Vet Alliance. Previously he was the Chief Veterinary officer focusing on providing medical oversight and operational leadership to a growing multi-site, multi-state veterinary hospital company.

    Issue: Fall 2020
  • Randy Simonson, ‘81 PhD, from the Veterinary Microbiology graduate program, was elected as a member of the University of Minnesota Board of Regents in 2018.

  • Terry Kreeger, '84 DVM, PhD, retired as a Wyoming State Wildlife Veterinarian in 2013, became a Lifetime Honorary Member of the Wildlife Society in 2016, and recently received the Roger Wilson Lifetime Achievement Award from the Wyoming Chapter of the Wildlife Society.

  • Eileen Thacker, '78 DVM, PhD, and Brad Thacker, '78 DVM, '82 MS, '85 PhD, were recently awarded with the Science with Practice Award at the Iowa State University (ISU) James D. McKean Swine Disease Conference in Ames, Iowa. ISU's College of Veterinary Medicine recognizes their rich contributions to research and practical application of veterinary swine medicine including Eileen's research on the control of Mycoplasma hyopneumoniae and Brad's knowledge of disease control and elimination.

    Issue: Fall 2019
  • Janet Donlin, '81 DVM, received the 2019 LGBTQ+ Leadership Award from the Pride Veterinary Medical Community at the American Veterinary Medical Association Convention in Washington, D.C., on August 4. Read more

    Issue: Fall 2019