Skip to main content

Ned Patterson named MVMA Outstanding Faculty Award winner

  • Ned Patterson

    Ned Patterson named MVMA Outstanding Faculty Award winner

The Minnesota Veterinary Medical Association (MVMA) recently announced Ned Patterson, DVM, PhD, as the winner of its Outstanding Faculty Award. The award was presented virtually on Feb. 5 at the MVMA’s 124th Annual Meeting. Patterson is a professor in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences.

The Outstanding Faculty Award is given to a faculty member of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine (CVM) who provides outstanding service to Minnesota veterinarians, gives of their time and talent to the veterinary profession, serves as a leader making a difference in the profession, and is a dedicated contributor to organized veterinary medicine.

As noted in the award announcement, Patterson is an excellent teacher, both in the classroom and in clinical rotations. He teaches throughout the curriculum, on topics such as genetics, neurology, and clinical skills, and serves as a mentor in the college’s Gopher Orientation and Leadership Experience course.

Patterson also has taken on several leadership roles since joining the CVM. Most recently, he joined the MVMA Board of Directors. Paterson has previously served as chair of the CVM Faculty Council, chair of the Veterinary Clinical Sciences Merit Review Committee, chair of the CVM Comparative Medicine Signature Program Steering Committee, director of the Small Animal Medicine Residency Program, and director of Graduate Studies for the VMED graduate program. 

Additionally, UMN Vice Provost Rebecca Ropers recently selected Patterson to participate in the Big Ten Academic Alliance Academic Leadership Program, which includes only three or four faculty members from the entire University of Minnesota.